top of page


NEW WEST 0005702

UPC: 607396570218

Release Date: 2/3/2023


“I feel like there are two sides of me,” says the Nashville-based singer-songwriter and guitar virtuoso known as Sunny War. “One of them is very self-destructive, and the other is trying to work with that other half to keep things balanced.” That’s the central conflict on her fourth album, the eclectic and innovative Anarchist Gospel, which documents a time when it looked like the self-destructive side might win out. Extreme emotions can make that battle all the more perilous, yet from such trials Sunny has crafted a set of songs that draw on a range of ideas and styles, as though she’s marshaling all her forces to get her ideas across: ecstatic gospel, dusty country blues, thoughtful folk, rip-roaring rock and roll, even avant garde studio experiments. She melds them together into a powerful statement of survival, revealing a probing songwriter who indulges no comforting platitudes and a highly innovative guitarist who deploys spidery riffs throughout every song. Because it promises not healing but resilience and perseverance, because it doesn’t take shit for granted, Anarchist Gospel holds up under such intense emotional pressure, acknowledging the pain of living while searching for something that lies just beyond ourselves, some sense of balance between the bad and the good. Featuring: David Rawlings, Allison Russell, Jim James, Micah Nelson




1. Love’s Death Bed

2. No Reason

3. Shelter And Storm

4. I Got No Fight

5. Swear To Gawd

6. Baby Bitch

7. His Love

8. Whole

9. New Day

10. Earth

11. Hopeless

12. Higher

13. Test Dummy

14. Sweet Nothing

Sunny War - Anarchist Gospel

SKU: 607396570218
  • $75+ Free Shipping

bottom of page