top of page



UPC: 825646287390

Release Date: 2/26/2016


David Bowie David Bowie AKA Space Oddity on 180g Vinyl LP


David Bowie's "Real" Debut: Remastered 180g Vinyl LP of 1969's David Bowie AKA Space Oddity Marks Beginning of Icon's Constant Creative Reinvention


Originally titled David Bowie, then subsequently Man of Words, Man of Music, the album that became widely known as Space Oddity was reissued under that name again in 1972, peaking at #16 on Billboard's Albums chart and #5 in the UK. Produced by Tony Visconti (except for the title track, produced by Gus Dudgeon), the album represents a giant leap forward in Bowie's songwriting and is the first truly essential Bowie album.


Equally notable for its collaborators, including session players Herbie FlowersTim RenwickTerry Cox, and Rick WakemanSpace Oddity pays homage to the influences of the then-burgeoning London artistic scene and delves into psychedelic folk-rock, and prog. Its genre-defying template created a blueprint of the musician who would become, over the next decade, one of the world's most innovative and inimitable artists.


"As was the case with Miles Davis in jazz, Bowie has come not just to represent his innovations but to symbolize modern rock as an idiom in which literacy, art, fashion, style, sexual exploration and social commentary can be rolled into one." - Rolling Stone




- Side 1 -

1 Space Oddity (2015 Remastered Version)

2 Unwashed and Somewhat Slightly Dazed (2015 Remastered Version)

3 Letter to Hermione (2015 Remastered Version)

4 Cygnet Committee (2015 Remastered Version)


- Side 2 -

1 Janine (2015 Remastered Version)

2 An Occasional Dream (2015 Remastered Version)

3 Wild Eyed Boy from Freecloud (2015 Remastered Version)

4 God Knows I'm Good (2015 Remastered Version)

5 Memory of a Free Festival (2015 Remastered Version)

David Bowie - David Bowie Aka Space Oddity

SKU: 825646287390
Out of Stock
    bottom of page