Moving New Concept Album Intended as the Music for a Stage Adaptation of Susannah Kaysen's Memoir Girl, Interrupted!

Aimee Mann started working on a musical, based on Susannah Kaysen's memoir Girl, Interrupted. But it takes years for a Broadway show to get produced. So Aimee ended up going into the studio and recording all of the songs for the musical herself, Queens of the Summer Hotel is the result and "Suicide is Murder" is the first single. "I started to write this song because I've known people who committed suicide and friends who've had loved ones die from suicide," Mann notes. "I think the phrase ‘suicide is murder' took on a meaning for me as it's the worst thing to have to deal with in the aftermath. It's just terrible. Because every person who knows the person who committed suicide will blame themselves in some way for not noticing or stepping in or doing something. They'll till the end of their days, say, ‘was there something I could have done?'" Boasting string and woodwind orchestrations by longtime collaborator Paul Bryan, the 15-track collection follows-up the singer/songwriter's Grammy-winning 2017 album Mental Illness.


Disc 1



1 You Fall
2 Robert Lowell and Sylvia Plath
3 Give Me Fifteen
4 At The Frick Museum
5 Home By Now
6 Checks
7 Little Chameleon
8 You Don’t Have The Room
9 Suicide Is Murder
10 You Could Have Been A Roosevelt
11 Burn It Out
12 In Mexico
13 Check (reprise)
14 You’re Lost
15 I See You

Aimee Mann - Queens of the Summer Hotel (Vinyl LP)

SKU: 698519006523