top of page



Thievery Corporation The Richest Man In Babylon on 2LP


Out of Print Since Original Release in 2002

When they met in the mid-1990s, Thievery Corporation’s Eric Hilton and Rob Garza instantly bonded over their shared passion for bossa nova. Dedicating their 1996 debut Sounds from the Thievery Hi-Fi to bossa nova pioneer Antonio Carlos Jobim, the Washington, D.C.-based duo have spent nearly two decades creating boundary-warping, complexly crafted electronic music partly inspired by bossa nova’s intricate rhythms and lush textures. 


Laid back yet firing, Sounds From The Thievery Hi Fi was a smoky homage to all things out on the dark side, a multi-textured transformation of Rastafarianism, martial arts and fourth world beats. Second album The Mirror Conspiracy (2000) found the duo taking a softer approach, inspired by late '60s movie soundtracks and rare library music from Italy and the UK.


2002's Richest Man In BabylonThievery Corporation's classic third album, found the duo addressing socially conscious themes and incorporating protest music into their opulent sound. Includes guest vocalists Pam Bricker ("Facing East," "All That We Perceive"), Lou Lou ("Omid (Hope)," Emiliana Torrini ("Heaven's Gonna Burn Your Eyes," "Until the Morning") and Sleepy Wonder & Shinehead ("The State of the Union").  


Thievery Corporation The Richest Man In Babylon Track Listing:


1.  Heaven's Gonna Burn Your Eyes

2.  Facing East

3.  The Outernationalist

4.  Interlude

5.  Omid (Hope)

6.  All That We Perceive

7.  Un Simple Histoire (A Simple Story)

8.  Meu Destino (My Destiny)

9.  Exilio (Exile)

10. From Creation

11. The Richest Man in Babylon

12. Liberation Front

13. The State of the Union

14. Until the Morning

15. Resolution

Thievery Corporation - Richest Man in Babylon (Vinyl 2LP)

Out of Stock
  • $45+ Free Shipping

bottom of page