top of page


VIRGIN 5700960

UPC: 602557009606

Release Date: 12/23/2016


Limited 180gm vinyl LP pressing. Blue Lines is the 1991 debut album by English trip hop group Massive Attack, released on their Wild Bunch label through Virgin Records. A highly-influential album, Blue Lines featured breakbeats, sampling, and rapping on a number of tracks, but the design of the album differed from traditional hip hop. Massive Attack approached the American-born hip hop movement from an underground British perspective and also incorporated live instruments into the mixes. It features the vocals of Shara Nelson and Horace Andy, along with the rapping of Tricky Kid. Blue Lines proved to be popular in the club scene, as well as on college radio stations. In a contemporary review of Blue Lines, Dele Fadele of NME hailed the album as "the sleekest, deadliest, most urbane, most confounding LP 1991 has yet seen", writing that Massive Attack "put current changes on the dancefloor in perspective and map out blueprints for what must surely come next" and that "after Blue Lines the boundaries separating soul, funk, reggae, house, classical, hip-hop and space-rock will be blurred forever."




1Safe From Harm
2One Love
3Blue Lines
4Be Thankful For What You’ve Got
5Five Man Army
6Unfinished Sympathy
9Hymn Of The Big Wheel

Massive Attack - Blue Lines (180g)

SKU: 602557009606
Out of Stock
  • $75+ Free Shipping

bottom of page