top of page


MOTOWN 3371801

UPC: 602435946078

Release Date: 12/9/2022


Color Of Vinyl Subject To Change Without Notice / Call To Confirm Colored Copies Are Still Available


New Amerykhah Part Two: Return Of The Ankh is the self-produced 2010 sequel to nu-soul queen Erykah Badu's socially conscious gold album, New Amerykah Part One (4th World War)Return of the Ankh features lush live instrumentation and taps into Badu's emotional side with central themes of romance and relationships. "We used a lot of analog instruments; harps, strings, drums, piano, and even a Theremin, to give the album that sonic feel," explained Badu.


"That singer can still purr, and hints of the languorous intimacy of her earliest music surface on "Return of the Ankh," with its more inward-looking songs. If the previous album was social, political and analytical in scope, "Return of the Ankh" is all about intimacy, desire, heartsickness. Whereas "4th World War" was largely created on a laptop, "Return of the Ankh" has a live-in-the-studio feel, a subdued jam session. Badu coproduces, a mistress of vibe and feel rather than strictly formatted songcraft."

--Greg Kot, Chicago Tribune, April 10, 2010




1. 20 Feet Tall

2. Window Seat

3. Agitation

4. Turn Me Away (Get MuNNY)

5. Gone Baby, Don't Be Long

6. Umm Hmm

7. Love

8. You Loving Me (Session)

9. Fall in Love (Your Funeral)

10. Strawberry Incense

11. Out My Mind, Just In Time

Erykah Badu - New Amerykah Part Two (Return Of The Ankh) (Violet Vinyl)

SKU: 602435946078
    bottom of page