top of page



UPC: 045778711819

Release Date: 10/2/2012


Beth Orton Sugaring Season on LP + CD


Beth Orton makes her ANTI- debut with Sugaring Season, a 13-track album that captures the classic hypnotic sound that won her prominence, at the same time as it shows a singer at the full maturity of her instrument, with a deep soulfulness and an intimate sense of detail. Sugaring Season, with producer Tucker Martine at the helm, is also Beth’s most musically ambitious and accomplished album to date. 


Much of the record combines rich orchestral textures with a masterful jazz rhythm section and modal folk guitars, music hall piano and heartbreaking R&B ballads, while tracks like “Magpie,” with its massive, loping groove will remind fans that there are Chemical Brothers in Beth’s past. The album is in many ways a culmination of Orton’s art of contradictions, a full circle from that first John Martyn cover she recorded with William Orbit back in the day – soulful and ambient, lush and bittersweet, starkly still and fiercely rhythmic.


Beth Orton Sugaring Season Track Listing:


1.  Candles

2.  Dawn Chorus

3.  Something More Beautiful

4.  Magpie

5.  Poison Tree

6.  Call Me the Breeze

7.  See Through Blue

8.  State of Grace

9.  Last Leaves of Autumn

10. Mystery

11. That Summer Feeling

12. I Wasn't Born To Follow

13. Goin' Back

BETH ORTON - Sugaring Season (Vinyl LP)

SKU: 045778711819
Out of Stock
  • $45+ Free Shipping

bottom of page