top of page



Trio of 2000-2001 EPs Available on Vinyl for the First Time in Celebration of 20th Anniversary!


Following the release of their debut album, Overcast!Atmosphere was already making waves in the underground hip-hop scene, attracting attention for their unique combination of content, styles and sounds. Although the group was suddenly smaller due to the departure of one member, Spawn, the buzz continued to grow, as did the creative output of remaining members Slug and Ant. Over the next three years, the duo recorded and released a flurry of unofficial CD's, tapes, songs and side projects, along with pressing and distributing a string of vinyl EP's, titled Ford One, Ford Two, and The Lucy EP. These vinyl EP's were ultimately consolidated onto one CD as well, for the purpose of selling on tour and distributing to retail, becoming what most considered to be Atmosphere's official sophomore album, Lucy Ford: The Atmosphere EP's, more commonly referred to as simply Lucy Ford.


Lucy Ford was packed with the kind of nimble wordplay found on Atmosphere's debut, but it was paired with more self-reflective and introspective rhymes than their previous album. Tracks like "The Woman With the Tattooed Hands" and "Nothing But Sunshine" showed Slug was equally as talented at poignant storytelling as he was at conveying a deeper message for the greater good of humanity, while songs like "Don't Ever Fucking Question That" and "Like Today" stripped away at the character facade, allowing listeners to know the rapper on a more intimate level. The album wasn't entirely devoid of ego though. Slug reminds listeners of his competitive roots on "Guns & Cigarettes" over a truly inspired bluesy beat by Ant, who handled the lion's share of the album's production. And while Ant knows how to bring the emotional essence out of a beat, from the idyllic to the incensed, there were a few notable contributions from outside producers as well, including the dub-inspired "Free or Dead" by Jel, and the darkly optimistic "Nothing But Sunshine" by Moodswing9, among others.


Now, in celebration of its 20th anniversary, the entire Lucy Ford album is finally available as a vinyl 2LP-set for the first time in history. At last, fans and collectors everywhere can finally own this integral part of Atmosphere's legacy on vinyl, complete with the original artwork and a redesigned layout. The packaging includes a 12" matte UV gatefold jacket, and black dust sleeves. 



  • Between the Lines
  • Like Today
  • Tears For the Sheep
  • Guns and Cigarettes
  • Don't Ever Fucking Question That
  • It Goes
  • If I Was Santa Claus
  • Aspiring Sociopath
  • Free or Dead
  • Party For the Fight to Write
  • Mama had a Baby and His Head Popped Off
  • They're All Gonna Laugh @ You
  • Lost and Found
  • The Woman with the Tattooed Hands
  • Nothing But Sunshine

Atmosphere - Lucy Ford

SKU: 826257033710
    bottom of page